waves

wave_japanese.0

 

octopus_wave_web
These pen and ink images I have in my sketchbook. The shading was done in just a few brush strokes. My flatmate Patrick lent me a Japanese Sum-i book (written in German), so I did some experiments. I love Japanese art in many forms from Edo period woodcuts to modern day Manga, the craftsmanship of the line is inspiring.

The second sketch was a precursor to the first. I like this one because it has more of its own strange feeling and doesn’t follow natural laws. This character gives it a little more life. I tried my best not to just copy a Hokusai wave and do something different, but part of me also couldn’t resist mimicking some of those beautiful shapes.

Leave a Reply

